Language ideology and migration

The Language Baggage: Unpacking Language Ideologies among Young Filipino-Canadians 

Chareena Lareza Quirante
Carleton University

ChareenaQuirante@cmail.carleton.ca
http://www.yogadkan.com


Language skills are a ‘plus’: the limits of entrepreneurial multilingual nanny work in Britain 

Rachelle Vessey
Carleton University

RachelleVessey@cunet.carleton.ca


Appreciation of Family Language Practices in Migration Contexts? Insights from a Pilot Study  

Katja F. Cantone, Franziska Möller, Judith Purkarthofer & Tobias Schroedler
University of Duisburg-Essen / Technical University of Dortmund

katja.cantone@uni-due.de
judith.purkarthofer@uni-due.de
tobias.schroedler@uni-due.de
franziska.moeller@tu-dortmund.de


Language, education and migration: Using perceptual dialectology to teach linguistic and  cultural diversity 

Katharina v. Elbwart
University of Paderborn

katharina.elbwart@uni-paderborn.de


On myths and imaginations related to language, identity and mobility 

Sangeeta Bagga-Gupta & Machunwangliu Kamei
Jönköping University / SVKM’s Usha Pravin Gandhi College

Sangeeta.Bagga-Gupta@ju.se
kameimachun@gmail.com


“What she speaks is not even Greek!”: monolingual and monodialectal ideologies in a post-multilingualist era 

Petros Karatsareas
University of Westminster

P.Karatsareas@westminster.ac.uk
@pkaratsareas


Divergent language ideologies in a transatlantic minority:  Gaelic in Scotland, Nova Scotia and New England 

Stuart Dunmore
University of Sussex

S.Dunmore@sussex.ac.uk
@Dun_Mor


Destigmatizing French Language Variations to Foster Learners’ Sociolinguistic Competence  

Sandra Descourtis & Stefano Maranzana
University of Wisconsin-Madison / Southern Methodist University

descourtis@wisc.edu
smaranzana@smu.edu

2 thoughts

  1. Here are a few questions for all speakers (some of these were posted on Twitter https://twitter.com/RachelleVessey):
    @Chareena Lareza Quirante: I may have missed it in your talk, but do you have any information about Filipino-Canadians living in Quebec, i.e. where there is a different dominant language (French)?
    @Petros Karatsareas: Does the theorization of post multilingualism align (at all) with literature on post multiculturalism?
    @Stuart Dunmore: Is there an ideology associated with the pronunciation of “Gaelic” (which differs between NS and Scotland)? Was there not also a significant population that migrated to New Zealand?

Leave a Comment